Call Toll Free For Best Fare

Chasing the Orange Cap in IPL 2024: Your Guide to IPL 2024 Matches, Venues & Schedule

Chasing the Orange Cap in IPL 2024: Your Guide to IPL 2024 Matches, Venues & Schedule

by Travelopod

April 24, 2024

Orange Cap in IPL 2024

The party's already started in India, and it's all thanks to the 17th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL)! This electrifying T20 cricket tournament kicked off with a nail-biting match on Friday between the defending champions, the Chennai Super Kings, and their arch-rivals, the Royal Challengers Bangalore.
Did someone say nail-biting? The Super Kings snatched victory from the jaws of defeat with a last-ball six! Talk about a dream start to the season!

The IPL is like the Super Bowl, March Madness, and the NBA Finals rolled into one. It's a non-stop cricket carnival featuring the world's best batsmen vying for the coveted Orange Cap (awarded to the player with the most runs) and bowlers unleashing their fury.

Think explosive sixes, heart-stopping catches, and passionate fanbases – the IPL has it all! This high-octane tournament is expected to run for a month, with matches happening across different cities in India.

Intrigued? Here's everything you need to know about IPL 2024, including the match schedule and venues (we'll link those for you). Plus, if you haven't already, this might be the perfect excuse to snag some cheap flights to India and experience the electrifying atmosphere firsthand!

Cricket Fever Grips India!

Orange Cap in IPL 2024

When Did the IPL 2024 Start and When Is it Ending?

Wondering when the action started in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024? You're just in time! The tournament kicked off on March 22nd with a bang, featuring the defending champs, the Chennai Super Kings, taking on the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

While the full schedule for the rest of the season hasn't been released yet, we do know the big finale is slated for May 26th. That gives you plenty of time to catch some heart-stopping matches and witness the best cricketers in the world battle it out! 

Is the IPL 2024 format the same as last year, with the number of matches and timings?

Get ready for a marathon of cricket action! Just like last year, IPL 2024 is serving up a massive 70 league matches, with each team playing a total of 14 matches. That's a ton of sixes, spectacular catches, and nail-biting finishes to keep you glued to your screen!

Need to know when to tune in? Here's the scoop on match timings:

  • Single Matches: Most single matches will start at 7:30 PM IST (India Standard Time).
  • Double-Headers: Buckle up for double the cricket on these days! The first match will kick off at 3:30 PM IST, followed by the second match at the usual 7:30 PM IST slot.
  • Opener's Special: The very first match of the season had a slightly later start at 8:00 PM IST to accommodate the opening ceremony.

Who are the IPL 2024 team captains? Are there any changes from last season?

Here's a quick rundown of the IPL 2024 captains, with some interesting changes from last year:

  • Mumbai Indians: Hardik Pandya takes the reins from Rohit Sharma, marking a significant shift for the five-time champions.
  • Gujarat Titans: With Pandya's move, young gun Shubman Gill steps up as captain for the Titans.
  • Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant returns to lead the Capitals after recovering from injury, replacing David Warner.
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: Pat Cummins takes over the captaincy from Aiden Markram, bringing his international experience to the table.
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: Shreyas Iyer reclaims the captaincy after missing the 2023 season due to injury. Nitish Rana will be his vice-captain.

Other teams retain their captains from last year:

  • Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni
  • Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul
  • Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson
  • Punjab Kings: Shikhar Dhawan
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis

Pro Tip: The final match of IPL 2024 may happen in Chennai, so this is a suggestion to all the savvy travelers and cricket lovers, book your flights to Chennai now and save up to $350 by calling Travelopod on +1 (929) 269 8013.

Where Will the Matches be Played and Will There Be Any New Venue?

Most IPL teams are playing at their regular stadiums this year, but there's some exciting news for fans!

  • Punjab Kings are showcasing their talents at the brand new Mullanpur stadium for some of their home games, along with two matches in Dharamsala.
  • Delhi Capitals will start their season with two home games in Visakhapatnam before heading back to their usual Delhi stadium.

Thinking about flying to India to experience the IPL live? Search for flights to these cities:

  • Chennai
  • Bangalore
  • Kolkata
  • Mumbai
  • Ahmedabad
  • Hyderabad
  • Visakhapatnam
  • Dharamsala
  • Mullanpur

What is the Winner Prize in IPL 2024?

Big Money at Stake! Winners take home a whopping Rs 20 crore (approx. USD 2.4 million), while runners-up pocket Rs 13 crore (approx. USD 1.6 million). Third and fourth-place finishers also get a hefty payout of Rs 7 crore (approx. USD 840,000) and Rs 6.5 crore (approx. USD 780,000) respectively.

What is the Orange Cap in IPL and the Purple Cap in IPL?

The Orange Cap: Like an MVP Award for Batting!

What is the Orange Cap in IPL and the Purple Cap in IPL?

Every year in the IPL, the player who scores the most runs throughout the entire season gets a special prize – the Orange Cap! It's basically like being named the Most Valuable Player (MVP) for batting in the whole tournament.

Think of it like the award for the most home runs in baseball, but for the whole season, and with a cool orange cap as the trophy! The Orange Cap winner is basically the batting king (or queen) of the IPL that year. Who do you think will win the orange cap in IPL 2024?

Who Won the Orange Cap in IPL 2023?

Who Won the Orange Cap in IPL 2023?

The winner of the Orange Cap in IPL 2023 was Shubman Gill, who played for the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the time. He amassed an impressive 890 runs in 17 innings. What do you think about who will win the orange cap in IPL 2024?

Who Won the Purple Cap Twice in the IPL? A Look at the Purple Cap Winners (2008-2024)

The Purple Cap is a coveted prize in the IPL, awarded to the bowler with the most wickets throughout the season. Let's take a quick trip down memory lane and see who's reigned supreme in the wicket-taking department over the years (from 2008 to 2024)!

Fun fact: Two bowlers have even managed to grab the Purple Cap twice! Dwayne Bravo, a force to be reckoned with, achieved this feat while playing for the Chennai Super Kings in 2013 and 2015. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, known for his accuracy, also secured the Purple Cap twice with the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2016 and 2017.

Who Won the IPL 2023?

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

The 2023 IPL final was an instant classic! The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) edged out the Gujarat Titans in a nail-biting match that stretched into a third day due to rain. With victory seemingly out of reach, needing 10 runs off the last two balls, CSK's Ravindra Jadeja stepped up like a champion. He smashed a six and a four off the final two deliveries, sending the Ahmedabad crowd into a frenzy and securing CSK's fifth IPL title! What do you think, which team will get the title IPL 2024?

Key Takeaway!

IPL 2024: Last-Ball Six Ignited India! Witness history in the making! The electrifying IPL is in full swing, with last-ball finishes and record-breaking runs. Become part of the world's biggest cricket party! Experience the roar of the crowd, the dazzling sixes, and the electrifying atmosphere. 

Google 5-Stars

Based on
20k+ Reviews

Win-a-Trip Deal Banner



Subscribe to our newsletter and save!

Receive hot deals, secret promos and new articles

And /Or